Conference Bursary Award Winners


Dear members,

On behalf of TESL Nova Scotia, I would like to announce this year’s recipients of the four $500 TESL NS travel bursaries to attend the 2017 TESL Canada conference in Niagara Falls. Congratulations are extended to:

  • Allison Baillie (Dr. John Hugh Gillis Regional High School)
  • Shelley Gillingham (East Antigonish Education Centre)
  • Jennifer Palmer (ISANS)
  • Oksana Shkurska (Dalhousie University)

Congratulations are also extended to Vanessa Lent (ISANS) for receiving a $500.00 travel bursary from TESL Canada.

TESL NS would like to take a moment to acknowledge those members who are presenting at the 2017 conference. TESL NS and its members send our congratulations for being accepted as presenters. We know the following members will represent us well:

  • Shazia Awan
  • Carol Derby
  • Arleigh Hood
  • Setsu Kawahara
  • Vanessa Lent
  • Jennifer MacDonald
  • Erin McDonald
  • Kathryn MacLean
  • Ayesha Mushtaq
  • Jennifer Palmer
  • Oksana Shkurska
  • Sarah Sampara
  • Nick Veinot

A special congratulation is also in order for Sarah Sampara (ISANS), who was awarded a complimentary registration for submitting the proposal with the highest rating for the NS region.

Finally, with her permission, I would like to pass on to you a comment I received from Dianne Tyers, TESL Canada Conference Manager:

Here are the presenters from Nova Scotia.  It is quite an impressive list.  As the TESL Canada Conference Manager I can say that I am really pleased with the representation from Nova Scotia, in terms of the number of presenters, the quality of the presentations and the range of topics/expertise.  We are looking forward to having all of the presenters share Nova Scotia expertise at the conference!

I hope that the conference is enjoyable for every one attending, and I look forward to hearing all about it in the future. Good luck to those presenting, and safe travels to all.

Yours sincerely,

Kris Mitchell

President, TESL NS